Prof. John A. Rogers

Prof. John A. Rogers

Northwestern University


Simpson-Querrey Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Medicine Northwestern University

John A. Rogers is a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Chemistry and Neurological Surgery at the Northwestern University since 2016, where he is also the founding Director of the newly endowed Center on Bio-Integrated Electronics, recently elevated to the status of the Querrey-Simpson Institute of Bioelectronics.
Rogers obtained BA and BS degrees in chemistry and in physics from the University of Texas, SM degrees in physics and in chemistry and PhD degree in physical chemistry from MIT. During his PhD work he served as a founder and Director of Active Impulse Systems, a company that commercialized technologies developed. After finishes his PhD Rogers was a Junior Fellow in the Harvard University Society of Fellows and also joined Bell Laboratories as a Member of Technical Staff in the Condensed Matter Physics Research Department, and served as Director of this department.
From 2003-2016, he was on the faculty at University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign, where he held a Swanlund Chair, the highest chaired position at the university, with a primary appointment in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and joint appointments in the Departments of Chemistry, Bioengineering, Mechanical Science and Engineering, and Electrical and Computer Engineering.  He served as the Director of a Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center on nanomanufacturing, funded by the National Science Foundation, and as Director of the Seitz Materials Research Laboratory.

Rogers’ research includes fundamental and applied aspects of nano and molecular scale fabrication as well as materials and patterning techniques for unusual electronic and photonic devices, with an emphasis on bio-integrated and bio-inspired systems.  He has published more than 800 papers, and is an inventor on over 100 patents and patent applications, more than 70 of which are licensed or in active use by large companies and startups that he has co-founded.

Rogers is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the National Academy of Inventors. He received an Honoris Causa Doctorate from the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), a Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, from the University of Houston, a Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa, from the University of Missouri at Columbia, and holds Honorary Professorships at Fudan University, Shanghai Jiaotong University and Zhejiang University. Rogers was elected as a Laureate of the Order of Lincoln, the highest award bestowed on an individual by the state of Illinois (fewer than 400 laureates have been elected since the program started in 1964). His awards include the James Prize in Science and Technology Integration from the National Academy of Sciences, the Washington Award, the Sigma Xi Monie Ferst Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Nano Research Award from the Springer/Nature journal Nano Research, Nancy DeLoye Fitzroy and Roland V. Fitzroy Medal of the ASME, the Herbert Pardes Clinical Research Excellence Award, the Benjamin Franklin Medal from the Franklin Institute, the MRS Medal from the Materials Research Society, the Samuel R. Natelson Award from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, the Nadai Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the IEEE EMBS Trailblazer Award, the ETH Zurich Chemical Engineering Medal, the A.C. Eringen Medal from the Society for Engineering Science, the Smithsonian Award for American Ingenuity in the Physical Sciences, the Robert Henry Thurston Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Mid-Career Researcher Award from the Materials Research Society, the Lemelson-MIT Prize, a MacArthur Fellowship from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the George Smith Award from the IEEE, the National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship from the Department of Defense, the Daniel Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the University of Illinois and the Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award from the American Chemical Society.

Keep Me Updated

Dear Friends of the Nano community, participants, presenters, and invited speakers,

After careful consideration and as a result of the ongoing security situation in Israel, we have decided that it is in the best interest of everyone involved to reschedule the event.

These are the new dates:

9-11 March, 2025 | ICC Jerusalem

We understand the impact this may have on your plans and appreciate your understanding during these challenging times.

Thank you for your continued support, and we look forward to hosting a safe and successful NANO.IL.2025.

* Please note – registered participants and sponsors: Paid registration and signed sponsorship contracts will be valid for the new dates as well.
Should you decide to cancel your registration or sponsorship, the fees previously paid will be refunded; however, we cannot guarantee the same rates for the new 2025 dates.


Prof. Danny Porath
Conference Chairperson
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Prof. Meital Reches
Conference Co-Chairperson
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Mr. Haim Rousso
Conference Co-Chairperson
El-Op former CEO

Mr. Rafi Koriat
Conference Co-Chairperson
Israel National Nanotechnology Initiative