Joanna Aizenberg

Joanna Aizenberg

Harvard University


Joanna Aizenberg is the Amy Smith Berylson Professor of Materials Science, Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, and Director of the Kavli Institute for Bionano Science and Technology at Harvard University. She pursues a broad range of research interests that include biomimetic materials, self-assembly, bio-nano interface engineering, active materials, wetting phenomena, and catalysis. She received the B.S. degree in Chemistry from Moscow State University, and the Ph.D. degree in Structural Biology from the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Aizenberg is elected to the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Philosophical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science; and she is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, Materials Research Society and External Member of the Max Planck Society. Dr. Aizenberg’s select awards include: MRS Medal, Kavli Innovations in Chemistry Leader Award, ACS; Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience, MRS; Ronald Breslow Award for the Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry, ACS; as well as ~50 Named and Distinguished Lectureships, and Harvard’s Ledlie Prize for the most valuable contribution to science. She has ~235 publications, ~70 issued patents, and is a Founder of four start-up companies.

Scroll to top